20 Kwara Lawmakers defect to APC

Twenty lawmakers of Kwara State House of Assembly on Wednesday formally defected to the All Progressives Congress.
The defected members which included the Speaker, Mr. Razak Atunwa, his deputy, Prof. Yisa Mohammed, all the principal officers of the House and many other members were elected on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party.
Atunwa said the 20 members defected because of the crisis in the PDP.
The House is made up of 24 members.
Two members –  Hassan Oyeleke and Tope Olayomi – were elected under the umbrella of the defunct Action Congress of Nigeria, now APC.
A member Mr. Iliasu Ibrahim, who had been suspended by the House,  remains a PDP member. Another member w Mr. Fatai Salman, is expected to announce his position soon.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post