BREAKING: Tinubu Begins Inauguration of 45 Ministers-Designate

President Bola Ahmed Tinubu on Monday commenced the inauguration of 45 ministers-designate in Aso Villa.

The Special Adviser to Tinubu on Media and Publicity, Aguri Ngelale, is currently reading the citation of the Ministers, which would be followed by oath-taking.

On August 7, the Senate confirmed 45 ministers-designate out of 48 sent by the President.

This comes less than a week after President Bola Tinubu released the portfolios for the appointees, including former Rivers State governor Nyesom Wike in charge of the Ministry of Federal Capital Territory (FCT) and Festus Keyamo manning the Ministry of Aviation.

Some other ministers are Wale Edun (Finance and Coordinating Minister of the Economy), Adegboyega Oyetola (Transportation), David Umahi (Works), Festus Keyamo (Aviation and Aerospace Development), and Betta Edu (Humanitarian Affairs and Poverty Alleviation).

See the full list below:

Minister of Communications, Innovation and Digital Economy, Bosun Tijani

Minister of State, Environment and Ecological Management, Ishak Salaco

Minister of Finance and Coordinating Minister of the Economy Wale Edun

Minister of Marine and Blue Economy, Bunmi Tunji

Minister of Power, Adedayo Adelabu

Minister of State, Health and Social Welfare, Tunisia Alausa

Minister of Solid Minerals Development, Dele Alake

Minister of Tourism, Lola Ade-John

Minister of Transportation, Adegboyega Oyetola

Minister of Industry, Trade and Investment, Doris Anite

Minister of Innovation Science and Technology, Uche Nnaji

Minister of State, Labour and Employment, Nkiruka Onyejeocha

Minister of Women Affairs, Uju Kennedy

Minister of Works, David Umahi

Minister of Aviation and Aerospace Development, Festus Keyamo

Minister of Youth, Abubakar Momoh

Minister of Humanitarian Affairs and Poverty Alleviation, Betta Edu

Minister of State, Gas Resources, Ekperikpe Ekpo

Minister of State, Petroleum Resources, Heineken Lokpobiri

Minister of Sports Development, John Enoh

Minister of Federal Capital Territory, Nyesom Wike

Minister of Art, Culture and the Creative Economy, Hannatu Musawa

Minister of Defence, Mohammed Badaru

Minister of State Defence, Bello Matawalle

Minister of State Education, Yusuf T. Sunumu

Minister of Housing and Urban Development, Ahmed M. Dangiwa

Minister of State, Housing and Urban Development, Abdullah T. Gwarzo

Minister of Budget and Economic Planning, Atiku Bagudu

Minister of State, Federal Capital Territory, Mairiga Mahmud

Minister of State, Water Resources and Sanitation, Bello M. Goronyo

Minister of Agriculture and Food Security, Abubakar Kyar

Minister of Education, Tahir Maman

Minister of Interior, Sa’Idu A. Alkali

Minister of Foreign Affairs, Yusuf M. Tuggar

Coordinating Minister of Health and Social Welfare, Ali Pate

Minister of Police Affairs, Ibrahim Geidam

Minister of State, Steel Development, U. Maigari Ahmadu

Minister of Steel Development, Shuaibu A. Audu

Minister of Information and National Orientation, Muhammed Idris

Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice, Lateef Fagbemi

Minister of Labour and Employment, Simon B. Lalong

Minister of State, Police Affairs, Imaan Sulaiman-Ibrahim

Minister of Special Duties and Inter-Govermental Affairs, Zephaniah Jisalo

Minister of Water Resources and Sanitation, Joseph Utsev

Minister of State, Agriculture and Food Security, Aliyu Sabi Abdullahi

Minister of Environment and Ecological Management, (Kaduna)

 El-Rufai’s Pending Clearance

Nasir-El-Rufai has been in the eye of the storm, since the Senate’s refusal to confirm the former Kaduna State governor earlier this month, as well as Stella Okotete (Delta State) and Abubakar Danladi (Taraba State) over pending security clearances.

The non-confirmation came over a week after Tinubu’s transmission of a 28-member list to the red chamber on July 27.

During his screening, he was quizzed on a “strong petition” against him bordering on security issues presumably in his state. However, Senate President Godswill Akpabio asked the ex-governor not to “bother” addressing the issue as the Senate was not in charge of such petitions.

Days later, he was denied confirmation, leading to an alleged friction between El-Rufai and the Presidency.

On Sunday, the one-time FCT minister posted a cryptic message on X, formerly Twitter.

Quoting lyrics from the late Jamaican singer Bob Marley’s ‘Who The Cap Fit’, the former governor’s post drew speculation over seeming traitors in light of his non-confirmation.

Who The Cap Fit – Bob Marley & The Wailers is one of my favorites from the 1970s. Enjoy your Sunday with the song and lyrics that…

— Nasir Ahmad El-Rufai (@elrufai) August 20, 2023

Early Redeployments

Tinubu on Sunday redeployed ex-Governor of Osun State and minister-designate, Adegboyega Oyetola, from the Ministry of Transportation to the Ministry of Marine and Blue Economy.

The President also redeployed another minister-designate, Abubakar Momoh, from the Federal Ministry of Youth to the Federal Ministry of Niger Delta Development.

“The Federal Ministry of Youth is to be re-assigned to a Minister-Designate soon,” said presidential spokesman, Ajuri Ngelale, adding that the changes take immediate effect.

According to Ngelale, Tinubu also redeployed minister-designate Bunmi Tunji-Ojo to the Ministry of Interior while Sa’idu Alkali was redeployed as the Minister of Transportation.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post